Travel reviews by Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor Based on 10 traveler reviews
VisitMaryland Logo

Trip Advisor Beautiful Church both physically and spritually
Apr 22, 2014 by: Jamie W from Cumberland, Maryland
My family are fairly new members of this church. We started attending regularly 2 years ago. I was very hesitant in joining a new church as we have had some bad experiences with other churches. From the beginning the clergy and other church members have been nothing but welcoming and loving. The building is beautiful, the music is beautiful and all the members are beautiful. The Sunday school teachers are the best. If you are just passing through or are looking for new church home Emmanuel is a great Church to worship.



Trip Advisor The tenure of Edward Chapman led to its mess
Apr 21, 2014 by: Edward K from Cumberland, Maryland
Unlike yelp who wouldn't accept a post. Here is what the post of Emmanuel Episcopal Church. Its current members ought to realise that in the 1970's it had better growth but in 1985 it suddenly declined and they had many theories but this post will tell you the real reason. Since Edward Chapman had died in his church suddenly in February 2014. This post is not very disrepectful but a fact. So here it is a real review that wasn't allowed on Yelp. I would like to say this church is not a Welcoming place. This place is more interested in chasing away people. Until February 2014 the longest serving reverend they had Edward Chapman had for years chased away 300 people close to half of 800 that had been members before 1985 and chased away anyone who would of liked to go to church their over his entire time from 1985 till 2014. He did some good things but did many other bad things. My guess his cause of death was his ignorance and of course ignorance is not a medical term but more of like high blood pressure or heart disease caused by how he hated many of those 300 people in which 90 percent were his members who had been members along with their families since the 19th century. Many had filed complaints in less then 30 years and nothing was done to remove Rev Edward Chapman and those who filed complaints left due to inaction. Under his reign his church had also loss many of its longtime donors which his church has suffered financially and it only survived due to Heritage days. I hope his successor is someone who will be more welcoming and clean house of Edward Chapman inner circle with fresh faces and could until Edward Chapman came along invite back many members who left due to Edward Chapman's hostile environment of other people. I only say this because I knew of one woman whose family had been members way before 1985 and only left because of how unfriendly Rev Edward Chapman was in which at one time that person's father had gotten tired of Edward Chapman and said some words that were full of cuss words. The best thing about this church is that it is historical and has a tunnel. Also Edward Chapman did a few great things which should be remembered much more then his hostile side. Hope this review helps anyone. My suggestion to his successor is if you're tired of people then don't stay.



Trip Advisor Beautiful Easter Service
Apr 20, 2014 by: ettavau from New Kent, Virginia
After seeing this magnificent church on the hill a few months ago, we decided we wanted to attend a worship service there and this morning, Easter 2014, we did just that. The building itself is so beautiful. When we entered the sanctuary, there was no doubt we were in church. The music was so moving, as was the service. The Bishop noticed us in the congregation and approached us and asked our names. He made a point to invite us to the social and egg hunt afterwards. While we're United Methodist, we enjoy visiting churches of other denominations. This was our 2nd visit to an Episcopal Church and found the traditional worship service to be reverent and meaningful. Oh, and the music was extraordinary. We want to go back and take the tour of the facility at some point. The church and gardens are just beautiful.



Trip Advisor Great for pics but not the soul.
Dec 16, 2013 by: Cumberland R from Cumberland, Maryland
I grew up going to the church did everything there but pastor. The church is beautiful but it is spiritually dead. The church has been infested with politics and caters "the word" to fit every person's beliefs. It is very beautiful and they do some good things in the community. They thrive on big social elaborate parties. Make sure to dress nice to fit in! Despite my feelings about what the church has become I pray for Emmanuel and hope it rediscovers the true meaning of church. There is absolutely no evidence that the tunnels was a part of anything that had to do with the underground railroad.The tunnels are fascinating and have some great history connected to them. Great spot for pics but not for your soul.



Trip Advisor Stunning
Nov 18, 2013 by: Michaela365 from Baltimore, Maryland
My experience of this building was overwhelming, coming from the UK and entering such a beautiful building made my visit more worth while. I also attended 'Pasta Mania' that evening was utterly outstanding, the food was to die for. I will be back.


Read more reviews on the TripAdvisor page for this attraction.